Old version required for BuildAssemblerLibrary

Topics: Bugs, Sandcastle
Jul 25, 2010 at 7:29 AM

I'm just loading SandCastle and DocProject for the first time. I'm a complete newb on this topic, but I've tried to read the docs to ensure I don't miss anything. (It's ironic that the documentation for creating documentation is so difficult to find. Has someone in the community written a book on all things related to SandCastle and DocProject and other associated packages?)

I have the latest DocProject v1.11.0 RC Dated 2008/June/8.

I have Sandcastle v2.6.1062.1 2010/June/23:
http://sandcastle.codeplex.com/releases/view/13873

I loaded SandCastlePatch_Jun2010_2_6_10621_1_Rev1.zip
http://sandcastlestyles.codeplex.com/

I created a DocProject which failed to build at step 10 with a file missing exception. From the following blog page it looks like I may have needed to GAC SandCastle assemblies.
http://davesexton.com/blog/blogs/blog/archive/2007/11/16/docproject-2008-beta-2-assemblyresolve-showstopper.aspx

I did this and now the build aborts at step 7 (Build Assembler sandcastle.help1x.config). Given the option to debug the issue, VS says the SandCastle assemblies (or dependencies) are not the ones that are expected.

It's looking for v2.4.10520.1. The current BuildAssemblerLibrary is v2.6.10621.1 (as are the other Sandcastle assemblies).

So do we try to recompile DocProject from source with the latest SandCastle (no clue what that entails yet).
Or do we need to get an old version of SandCastle?

Thanks!

Jul 25, 2010 at 8:07 AM

Hi,

No books of which I'm aware.  You'll find all documentation on DocProject here and additional info on Sandcastle here and here.  My blog also has some info but it's probably not as useful (as you've already discovered).

DocProject doesn't support the latest release of Sandcastle yet.  Use the Sandcastle May 2008 Release instead.  This has not been documented, so I'll correct that now.  Sorry for the inconvenience.