Selecting overloaded methods to document

Topics: General Questions
Aug 26, 2008 at 2:42 PM
I'm new to DocProject and Sandcastle, so I may be posting this at the wrong place.  I'm in the process of converting our documentation from NDoc to Sandcastle.  For our documentation suite, we only document the public methods and constructors, nothing protected or private.  My initial pass at doing this with DocProject was to create a filter that excludes everything that is protected, internal, or private.  When I applied that filter, I received some unexpected results.

For instance, if I have the following constructors defined:
public SubError(int errorCode)
public SubError(int errorCode, string errorText)
protected SubError(int errorCode, string errorText, ObjParameter[] parameters)

All of these constructors were disabled. I tried to manually enable documentation on the public methods only.  As soon as I check one, all are checked.  If uncheck one, all are unchecked.

Is there something I'm doing wrong, an issue with DocProject, a limitation of DocProject, or a limitation in Sandcastle?

Thanks for your help
Tim
Aug 26, 2008 at 3:03 PM
Edited Aug 26, 2008 at 3:06 PM
Hi Tim,

Have you tried setting the Build | Documentation scope property to PublicOnly (the default value)?

If that setting is excluding too much then you can use a value of Complete instead and add one or more dynamic filters, as described below.

Applying a filter immediately does the same thing as unchecking nodes in Topic Explorer.  Unchecking nodes translates directly to the Sandcastle API filter, located in your project's Help\Presentation\Style\Configuration\MRefBuilder.config file.  A limitation of the API filter is that it only matches methods by name and not by their parameters, which means that when you exclude one overload you automatically exclude them all.