Customizing TOC and Type/Method Signatures

Topics: General Questions, Sandcastle
Nov 29, 2008 at 9:38 PM
Hiya, I'm new to Sandcastle and DocProject...and I'm very impressed with it...there are however 2 things I can't figure out...
1.  The signatures for types/methods in titles/TOC all seem to follow vb (I'm guessing) syntax....how do I change this to C#?  (for example generic type params display in ()'s instead of <>'s)...I'm not talking about customizing the 'Syntax' section, I've already disabled VB/JS from there, but the titles/toc still display in vb-like syntax.
2.  I played a bit with SHFB and it had a feature to let me specify which namespaces are listed in the TOC and which ones are heirarchial.  Is this possible in DocProject?  I'd like to be able to say 'make a TOC entry for all 2nd-level namespaces, and nest any 3+ level namespaces'...if you know what I mean....the default 1 TOC entry per namespace is a little inconvienient, because on a large project it's a huge list and a little overwhelming/scrolly :P
Nov 30, 2008 at 7:59 AM
Hi,

> The signatures for types/methods in titles/TOC all seem to follow vb (I'm guessing) syntax

Yes, Sandcastle uses VB-like syntax for the text in TOC titles and topic headers (it's referred to as, "language neutral syntax" in the XSLT comments).

DocProject uses Sandcastle's ChmBuilder utility to generate the Help 1.x TOC file (.hhc) but it doesn't support any switch to control the syntax style of TOC titles.

Header titles, on the other hand, are actually hooked up to the language filter (drop-down at the top).  When more than one language is selected, language neutral syntax is shown (this is the default).  But if you select C# and exclude the other languages then you'll see that the topic's title will change to use C# syntax instead (done via JavaScript).  This functionality is built-in to Sandcastle's VS 2005 presentation style - I'm not sure about the others at the moment.