A property cannot be set while building

Topics: General Questions
Sep 18, 2009 at 4:25 PM

Hi all,

I am quite new to DocProject. I just installed it and cretaed a testing project, and it worked great. Then I tried to add the DocProject to one of my existing projects, and the build fails with "A property cannot be set while building". I cannot find any more details about what may be wrong. Any hint would be very appreciated.

LiborV

Sep 18, 2009 at 8:30 PM

Hi LiborV,

That error appears to be from MSBuild - complaining that an MSBuild property cannot be set during a build.  To be sure, the full stack trace would be helpful.  Please look at the build output window for more information and also check the Windows Event Log for related error events.

Do you have the latest versions of DocProject and Sandcastle installed?

Were there any customizations made to the BuildProcess.cs file or elsewhere?

Did you try restarting Visual Studio?  Your computer?

- Dave

Sep 25, 2009 at 9:06 PM

Hi

During my test with DocProject i also ran into this error.

The solution for the probleem seemed to delete the "buildhelp" folder manually before building it again. Sometimes this doesn't help but deleting it again once more does the trick.
After a succesfull build the problem would however rise again. The same method as before will fix it again.

I did not make any changes to the BuildProcess.cs file that was created. I did play around with the "Include Project Output Dialog" settings tough. And they are currently set as following:
Apply to all default: False
Include project output default: True
Don't ask me this again: True

The following callstacks appeared in the eventlog:
Doing a "Rebuild solution":

Event: Clean project.

System.InvalidOperationException: A property cannot be set while building.
at Microsoft.Build.Shared.ErrorUtilities.ThrowInvalidOperation(String resourceName, Object[] args)